OFFICIAL MINUTES
REGULAR MEETING
BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL
SERVICE UNIT NO. 13

The regular meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit No. 13 (ESU 13) was called to order by President Mark Sinner on Tuesday, April 21, 2020, at 7:00 PM. In accordance with the directive of the Governor of the State of Nebraska and the Panhandle Unified Command concerning the Coronavirus Pandemic, the meeting was held via video conference to the various locations of the Board members and administrative staff. Meeting notice was published in the Star-Herald on April 16, 2020.

President Sinner referenced that Governor Ricketts issued Executive Order No. 20-03 Public Meetings Requirement Limited Waiver allowing governing bodies to meet by video conference. The Board reserves the right to rearrange the order of the agenda and to convene an executive session in accordance with § 84-1410.

Present: Diane Coon, Heather Crofutt, Steve Diemoz, Don Egging, Tim Horn, Patricia Jones, Bill Knapper, Scott Marsh (7:05 PM), Kim Marx, Tom Millette, Ray Richards, Mark Sinner, Dr. Andrew Dick, Administrator, Jodi Walker, Business Manager and Desira Martin, Treasurer. Guests: Donna Jenne, B.J. Peters, Dr. Pam Brezenski, Laura Barrett, and Jack Baker. Absent: none.

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Millette, that the agenda be approved as listed. Aye: Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Egging, seconded by Diemoz, that consent action items be approved as listed (Minutes of March regular meeting, Treasurer's Report, Fund Balance Report, Budget Summary Report, claims). Aye: Crofutt, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Coon. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed. The following General Fund claims were approved for payment:

April Claims	
Salaries, Benefits	\$828,991.74
Prof. & Tech. Services; Mileage	\$98,787.27
Leases, Utilities & Maintenance	\$17,283.47
Copies, Postage, Telephone & Travel	\$60,612.42
Supplies, Materials, Software & other Util.	\$55,396.61
Bldg. Improvements, Furn., Equipment, Hardware, Vehicle Acquisition	\$267,720.64
Transfer for Investments	\$0.00
Dues, Fees & Ind. Costs	\$26,934.58
Total	\$1,355,726.73

Calendar items were noted. No public electronic forum. Reports:

Donna Jenne, Head Start Director, explained that they will be applying for two additional grants by May 15th that are available for PK summer sessions and COVID-19 support.

Dr. Andrew Dick, Administrator, updated the Board on the progress of the Sidney project construction and the work being done for the opening of Panhandle Beginnings Day Treatment program.

Board Comments: none.

Old Business: Moved by Jones, seconded by Richards, that the Board approve the proposed amendment of Board Policy Article 4, Sections 1-6 (Personnel). Aye: Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Marsh, that the Board approve the proposed Video Surveillance Policy. Aye: Egging, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Amendment of Board Policy - Article 4, Sections 7-13 (Personnel) was presented as first reading. No action required.

Code of Conduct and Procurement Plan was presented as first reading. No action required.

New Business: Amendment of Board Policy - Article 5, Sections 1-3 (Equity and Legal Compliance) was introduced. No action required.

Moved by Egging, seconded by Millette, that the Board approve the 2% Cost of Living Allowance (COLA) increase of \$62,197.00 for the Head Start and Early Head Start programs by the Administration for Children and Families. Aye: Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Diemoz, that the Board approve the Quality Improvement funding increase of \$90,856.00 for the Head Start and Early Head Start programs by the Administration for Children and Families. Aye: Jones, Knapper, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Egging, Horn. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Coon, seconded by Millette, that the Board approve the revised Head Start Disability and Transition Written Plans, Mental Health Written Plans, and Education Written Plans. Aye: Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Horn, that the Board approve the proposed VALTS, LifeLink and Meridian calendars for the 2020-2021 school year. Aye:, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Jones, Knapper. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Egging, that the Board approve ESU 13's payroll dates for 2020-2021. Aye: Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marsh. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Marx, seconded by Coon, that the Board grant a 2.5% total package compensation increase for degreed and classified staff for 2020-2021. Aye: Millette, Richards, Sinner, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Richards, seconded by Egging, that the Board approve the construction of the VALTS classroom at the new Sidney Site for an amount not to exceed \$217,175.21. Aye: Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Horn, seconded by Sinner, that the Board approve the quote from Cytek Media Systems for the Audio Visual System for one VALTS classroom at the Harms Center and the Sidney classroom in the new building for \$53,264.00. Aye: Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Marsh, that the Board authorize the ESU 13 Administrator to negotiate with Rusch Construction on the scope and cost of the Distance Learning Lab and Front Entrance Remodel project for an amount not to exceed \$65,000. Aye: Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Sinner, seconded by Egging, that the Board accept the resignation of Leah Reed, School Psychologist, effective May 22, 2020. Aye: Crofutt, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Coon. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Horn, that the Board approve the certified contracts with Jennifer Lopez, Tessa Fraass, Jill Trautman, Nikita McConnell, and Stephanie Reynaga. Aye: Diemoz, Egging, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Richards, seconded by Horn, that the above listed minutes be approved as read. Aye: Egging, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

President Sinner declared regular meeting adjourned. Next regular meeting will be held on May 19, 2020.